Deep Chocolate Sour Cream Pound Cake

20160726_094420

Assalamualaikum and good morning to everyone where ever you are. Muscat is very quite at the moment.. all my friends are still in Malaysia enjoying their summer holidays. Cant wait for them to come back. Would love to lepak2 and kopi2 talking about everything under the sky. Thank you for making my life interesting friends… and just to let you know.. Chatime and Costa miss us very much hehehe. Come home soon please!

Last weekend we attended a candy making class at Spun in Avenues Mall. It was fun. I will tell you all about it in my next posting. Okay.. as for now, let me tell you something about this fabulous cake. To tell you the truth.. I have been wanting to make this cake since last year but the word ‘pound cake’ made me a bit skeptical. You see.. I love a soft and moist cake and the word pound kinda suggested that the cake would be dry and hard.. so I keep on pushing the recipe down my baking list.

What make me decided to bake it? Well.. Bisous A Toi’s last IG posting made me change my mind. She baked it in a very lovely bundt pan.. and not all cakes can be baked in a bundt pan, it has to be of certain texture. Since I have a bundt pan that I have bought loooong time ago and never been used.. I decided to  give this recipe a chance. And… I am so glad that I baked it. The texture is soft and definitely moist. My kids told me that even though the texture is different than my normal chocolate cake but it is a good kinda different… yeayyy!

This is where I took the recipe from.. Bisous A Toi blog. Rima is one of my favourite blogger.. love her cakes and recipes. May Allah bless her always.

20160726_094510

Ingredients

1.5 cups (181g) all-purpose flour
1/2 cup (57g) cake flour
1 cup (92g) Dutch-processed cocoa powder
2.25 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1.5 cups (340g) unsalted butter, softened
2.5 cups (500g) granulated sugar
4 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup (242g) sour cream
Method
  • Preheat the oven to 150C. Grease the inside of a 10-inch Bundt pan generously with butter and then dust with flour. (I baked mine at 160C and next time I am gonna dust it with cocoa powderso that it would not have white spots on the cake)
  • Sift the flours, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt into a medium bowl. Set aside.
  • In a bowl of an electric mixer, using the paddle attachment, beat the butter at medium speed until very creamy, about 2 minutes. Gradually beat in the sugar. Increase the speed to medium-high and beat until the mixture is well-blended and light, about 4 minutes.
  • At medium speed, beat in the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition and scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary.In a small bowl, stir the vanilla extract into the sour cream. At the low speed, add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture in 3 additions, alternating with the sour cream mixture in 2 additions and mixing just until blended. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top.
  • Bake the cake for 65 to 75 minutes, until a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool the cake in the pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes. Then invert the cake onto the rack and let it cool completely.

Leave a Reply

