Rainbow Cake 2

DSC_3820

May and June were the 2 most stressful months for me for the last 4 years and it has not changed much for this year. Having said that, I think I have learn to let go certain thing over the course of these 4 years and I think I am more relaxed this year with the whole exam thingy… lucky for Sofea. For some of my friends who have kids taking IGSCE exam for the first time, I can see how stressful this must have been for them.. looking at them took me back 5 years ago when Aina took her IGCSE hehehe… breathe in breath out Mummies!

As of last saturday Sofea has completed 12 papers and she still has 4 more to go. Last 2 papers gonna be English and they will be conducted during Ramadhan… I hope I can have an IGCSE/A level stress free for the next 3 years as Jasmine will only take her IGCSE in 2020 insyaallah.

Unlike in Malaysia where there are tons of tuition center around, here.. to get additional help outside school is very difficult. The teachers are not willing to do a paid tuition classes because of the law but they always do extra lessons after school.. just that sometimes those extra classes are not enough. Besides that, there are no practice questions being published like the one in Malaysia that can hep the kids to do extra work.. they only rely on the questions given by the teachers and also the past papers. I remembered when I was doing my SPM… my days were filled with doing sample questions just to familiarize myself with different type of questions. Here.. you only rely on teachers and school .. sigh!

DSC_3823

Enough with that.. okay.. what can I say about Rainbow cake… hmmm this cake I baked for Haqeem’s birthday quite sometimes ago. It was quite sweet for my liking, but my kids absolutely loved them. It was a hit among some of my friends and I have baked this cake more than 5 times for the last few months. If you have time, do try and bake this cake as the kids would definitely love the taste and not to mention the colours. For this cake I used Swiss buttercream frosting as it is not too sweet and it will compliment the cake. The recipe was taken from Diva can Cook.

Ingredients:

  • 2½ cups white granulated sugar (you can reduce the sugar to 2 cups as I think the cake is a bit sweet)
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • ¼ cup heavy whipping cream
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • Food coloring: red, yellow, blue, green
  • Swiss buttercream
Methods
  1. Preheat oven to 160 C.
  2. Generously grease and flour 6 (9-inch) cake pans. I only had 3 pans so I had to bake in two rounds.
  3. In a large bowl cream together sugar and butter.
  4. Mix in eggs until thoroughly incorporated.
  5. Mix in vanilla extract, buttermilk and heavy cream.
  6. Mix in half of the flour, baking powder, and salt.
  7. When mixture is combined, mix in the rest of the flour.
  8. Divide the batter into six bowls (I weigh the batter and divide them by 6)
  9. Add food coloring to each bowl to create a vibrant red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and violet. (see note on how to make colors)
  10. Pour each colored batter into the prepared pans and spread out into an even layer. (layers will be thin)
  11. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until center is set.
  12. Remove from oven and let cakes cool in the pan until pans are warm enough to touch.
  13. Run a spatula around the edges of the pans to loosen the cake and then very carefully remove the cakes from the pans.
  14. Place on a cooling rack and cool completely.

To assemble

  1. Place the violet layer down first and frost.
  2. Followed by the blue layer, green layer, yellow layer, orange layer and finally the red layer. (frost between each layer)
  3. Frost the whole cake.( I did the naked cake style.. )
  4. Slice & serve!

DSC_3825

Leave a Reply

