Red Velvet Belgian Waffles

Homemade waffle

Waffle with whipped cream and blueberries

Breakfast is one of the things that really stress me out. It has to be quick and at the same time can appeal to your kids appetite especially very early in the morning. I hate it if I made something and it is left untouched by them… and normally if they do that, the next morning they will have cereals for breakfast hehehe. I know I know.. I am a terrible mother. Don’t have to state the obvious…

Normally I do make things that they love in advance and freeze them such as rissoles and murtabak filling, so in the morning, I just need to fry them or assemble a mini murtabak for breakfast. So.. this waffle was made to see if it is worthy enough to make it to the breakfast table hahaha. I made the whole batch last week and it yielded about 16 small squares of waffles. I freezed a few squares and last weekend I reheated them up using the toaster and the waffle iron. Both turned up to be okay but my preference is still using waffle iron. I am pleased to tell you that this recipe is good enough to be another frozen food items in the freeze hehehe.

Belgium style waffle iron

Belgium style waffle iron

Oh.. if any of you guys are wondering about the taste… I give 2 thumbs up for this recipe.. crunchy and lovely. Recipe was taken from Taste of Home with a little twist of my own.

Crunchy.. just the way I like it

Crunchy.. just the way I like it

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1-1/2 cups milk
  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp red coloring
  • 1/2 tsp vinegar
  • cream frosting, sliced fresh strawberries or syrup

Methods:

  1. In a bowl, combine flour, sugar and baking powder. In another bowl, lightly beat egg yolks. Add milk, butter, vanilla, vinegar and red coloring; mix well. Stir into dry ingredients just until combined. Beat egg whites until stiff peaks form; fold into batter. 
  2. Bake in a preheated waffle iron according to manufacturer’s directions until golden brown. Serve with cream cheese frosting, strawberries or syrup.
Look at the colour.. love it

Look at the colour.. love it

Leave a Reply

