Pretzel

Pretzel

Assalamualaikum and a very good morning to all. How’s your weekend? I hope you guys had a great one. Last weekend our weather here was brilliant … clear sky and the temperature was just nice for a family outing… I hope everyone did make an effort to go out and enjoy the weather. As for me, last Friday I spent the whole day helping some ladies making some Malaysian snacks for the Malaysian Food Bazaar which will be on 31st March 2012 ie this weekend. This event is a joint venture between the Malaysian Ladies Association of Kuwait and Embassy of Malaysia Kuwait. We will be selling  authentic Malaysian signature dishes such as satay, nasi dagang, nasi kerabu, nasi lemak, mee rebus, laksa and much more. I hope that everything will go smoothly as plan, insyaallah.

Malaysian Food Bazaar 2012

OK… recipe for today is homemade pretzel. I cant remember where I got this recipe from but I’m glad that you post it. This was my 4th time making this pretzel and the kids love it. If you have time, do try this recipe and I promise you that you wont be disappointed.

Cinnamon Sugar Pretzel

Ingredient:-

Pretzel dough

  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 1/4 tsp yeast
  • 3tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp salt

Baking Soda water:

  • 2 tbsp baking soda
  • 2 cup warm water

For Dipping:

  • 100g butter – melted
  • cinnamon sugar mixture  or your favourite topping

Method:

  1. Place all pretzel dough ingredients in bread machine pan in the order suggested by the manufacturer. Select DOUGH setting and press ON. It will take 1 1/2 hours to complete the cycle.
  2. While dough is rising, prepare a baking soda water bath with 2 cups warm water and 2 Tbsp baking soda. Be certain to stir often.
  3. Preheat the oven to 230C.
  4. After dough has risen, turn the dough out onto a slightly  floured work surface and divide into 8 equal pieces. Roll out each piece of dough into a 24-inch rope and shape into a pretzel. (I divided my dough into 12 equal pieces so that I can have smaller pretzel.)
  5. Dip pretzel in baking soda solution for 1 minute to 1 1/2 minutes and place on greased baking sheet. Sprinkle some salt  and bake for 10 – 15 minutes.
  6. Dip the pretzel in melted butter and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar mixture or your favourite topping. Enjoy!

One thought on “Pretzel

  1. Hi, your blog is lovely. Such interesting recipes. I would like to visit the Malayasian Food Bazaar and I wondered if there’s any formality to fulfill to be permitted entry to the Malaysian embassy for the Food Bazaar on Saturday March 31. If so, what would that be? Is the public allowed to visit? Could you give me a contact number to enquire about details related to the Food Bazaar. Thankyou

Leave a Reply

