Chicken in creamy turmeric sauce

My version of chicken in creamy turmeric sauce

Assalamualaikum and a very Happy New Year to all. I have been neglecting this blog almost 3 weeks now… well,  with the kids at home for winter break, entertaining family visiting from Malaysia and not to mention my boy got sick again, I have no time at all to post anything. Anyway, life is almost back to normal, my boy is already at school and the girls will start school next Monday and my aunties and uncles already left… kind off miss them especially their cooking he he he. Believe it or not, the whole duration of their stay here, I do not have to cook at all… I know right… I’m suppose to be doing the cooking but it turned out to be the reverse… lucky me.

Okay, yesterday I was kind off blur on what to cook for dinner, had enough with rice and wanted to do something different. So, as usual, I started browsing the net and came across this blog, my initial thoughts was “mmm… interesting!” and then I saw the “blog landlord”… I think I know her, so I posted a comment in her blog and true enough, she was my HR manager when I was a very young engineer in Honeywell 18 years ago. I’m so glad to stumble upon her blog… she used to bring her homemade “nasi lemak bungkus” to office for all of us… she is the best HR manager I’ve worked with. So this recipe is taken from her blog and it was a total hit, my other half and my 2 elder daughters love this.

Delicious and super easy to prepare

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup chopped garlic ( I used 6 cloves of garlic)
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil (I used olive oil)
  • 4 boneless chicken breast halves
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 tbsp powdered turmeric ( I used 1 tsp turmeric powder)
  • few drops hot pepper sauce or a dash of ground cayenne pepper (I used about 1 tsp cayenne pepper)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • ground black pepper

Methods

  1. Combine pepper, garlic, and olive oil. Place chicken breasts in a shallow baking pan sprayed lightly with nonstick cooking spray; add pepper and oil mixture. Bake chicken at 175°C, uncovered, 20 minutes. ( I just grilled my chicken)
  2. While chicken bakes, melt butter or margarine in saucepan. Add flour and stir for 1 minute. Whisk in milk, stirring until sauce starts to thicken. Remove from heat; stir in turmeric powder. hot pepper sauce, salt, and pepper.
  3. Pour sauce over chicken.
  4. Arrange on a serving platter with sauce spooned over chicken breast halves. Garnish with steam vegetables of your choice.