Kaya – Coconut Jam

My homemade Kaya

Assalamualaikum…. it has been quite awhile since my last posting. I have been quite busy for the last 2 weeks with my Arabic and  Basic  Cake Decorating class…. this week baru boleh bernafas sikit.  My Basic  Cake decorating class was in Shuwaikh which is not that far but due to traffic,  I have to leave my house an hour before the class and coming back  was even worst. The class was 3 hours solid and by the time I’m back I’m too tired to do anything…. worst still, have homework to do. Having said all that, I’m glad that I did something for myself for a change. All I have to do now is practice practice and practice before I enroll for Level 2…. ada hati lagi tu  nak gi kelas he he he.

Anyway, to start balik blogging ni, kena lah slow and steady….. so easy recipe first OK. This kaya – coconut jam recipe was taken from this blog. I like the taste and I would say, similar enough to kaya taste that we are custom to. Lets see the ingredients!

Ingredients

  • 250 ml 100 % Coconut Milk
  • 250 ml Eggs or 4 Large Eggs
  • 250 ml minus 2 tbsp Granulated Sugar
  • 2 tsp All Purpose Flour
  • 2 Tbsp Demerara Sugar
  • 3 Pandan (Screw Pine) Leaves, washed, dry and knotted

Sweet and delicious

Method

  1. In a large bowl, whisk the coconut milk, eggs, sugar, and flour until well combine.
  2. Strain the coconut milk mixture into a double boiler or any heat resistant bowl that rests snugly on one of your saucepans, leaving about 3 inches of between the bottom of the bowl and the bottom of the pan.
  3. Heat the water to a gentle simmer and add the Demerara sugar into the strained coconut mixture. Stirring constantly but gently with a heatproof rubber spatula or a wooden spoon for about 20 minutes and put in the pandan leaves. Continue to stir for about 30 to 35 minutes or until the mixture is thickened and with a spreadable consistency.
  4. Remove immediately, discard pandan leaves, and let cool before storing into a clean airtight jar.

Below are 2 photos of my cakes, decorated during the Basic Decorating class… not perfect but boleh la…

Result from 2nd class.. Cupcake on a cake.

My cake fully decorated on the last class.

Leave a Reply

