Jeruk Betik

Haqeem

Today is closet cleaning day…. every now and then I have to rearrange balik all the clothes on my 2 younger daughters; Sofea and Jessy. Normally after folding their clothes, I will make sure they will arrange them in their closet themselves… just to make sure that they will get use to doing some house chores, after all they are girls, right?

Fortnight ago, I went and check their closet and to my surprise, Sofea’s closet was a mess… I was shocked by the messiness! When I asked her to explain why it was so messy, she told me that my little boy sometimes loves to sit and play inside her closet… mmm… that explain why he sometimes go inside the girl’s room and when I called him, he will come out  running with a naughty smile on his face…. I always thought that the smile was because he messed up all the toys…. now I know why…. mischievous little boy!

My Jeruk Betik

Ok, back to the recipe… yesterday I went to Sultan Centre and ternampak belik muda yg mengkal…. teringat pulak jeruk betik Mat Gebu, so apa lagi… beli la. The recipe is quite simple and I would say it is the same or maybe better than the one that you get in Penang and of course without preservatives.  Here is the ingredient.

Ingredient🙂

  • 1 papaya (about 750 g)
  • 1 tbsp limewater (air kapur)
  • 6 cups water
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 3/4 cup vinegar
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 – 5 small red chilies (optional) – cut into 2

Method:-)

  1. Peel the papaya and slice it into medium thickness and place them inside a tupperware. Add limewater and 3 cups of water , soak it for about 2 hours.
  2. Pour out the water and then add  another 3 cups of water and salt and then leave it again for 2-3 hours. Pour the water out, rinse the sliced papaya and then leave it in the strainer for at least 30 minutes.
  3. While soaking the sliced papaya, simmer the vinegar and sugar until the sugar dissolve. Set aside to cool.
  4. To assemble, place  the sliced papaya in a container, add red chilies and then pour the vinegar & sugar mixture. Cover the container and leave it for 1 – 2 days. (mine turned out OK after only one day yahoo!)

Sedapppp

Leave a Reply

