Devil’s Food Chocolate Cake

Jessy with her new guitar

Today is the day my Jasmine turns 7. She’s been bugging me since last week to bake her a guitar cake for her birthday and she even googled it for me on how to make one. Everyday she keeps on reminding me to watch the video and after awhile I have to give in to her wish. I am not good at all in decorating cake, so hari berpeluhla jugak nak men-decorate cake ni, tapi apa nak buat… birthday punya pasal… The finished product was a bit messy but I’m glad that she loved it. I baked the cake a day ahead so that I can chilled it before cutting it into a guitar shape. Eventhough the decoration is very poor but the cake was moist and delicious. This is my first time baking this cake after looking at Rima’s blog. You can surf her blog to see how to best decorate the cake. Here is the recipe.

Ingredient:-

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 65 gram butter
  • 1 large egg – size A
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk (i used fresh milk and added lemon juice)
  • 1/2 cup warm water

Methods
Preheat oven at 170C .. greased 8″ cake tin
Sieve flour, cocoa powder, bicarbonate soda, salt, and set aside. Beat butter with sugars until light and fluffy, add egg. Add dry ingredients (flour, cocoa powder etc) alternately with liquid ingredients (buttermilk + warm water) in three portions. Add vanilla extract and continue to mix till well blended. Bake for about 30 minutes or until just cooked.

My version of guitar cake

Leave a Reply

