Sand storm n Steam Layer Cake

Assalamualaikum to all. We are experiencing a sand storm at this very moment here in Kuwait. If I were to look outside  my window I can’t see anything, visibility is almost zero and even inside the house it is blurry due to the dust from outside. Breathing is kind of difficult and definitely not good for asthmatic people… me and my other half!

Petang tadi we were somewhere in Farwaniya and one Kuwaiti lady told us that we should hurry home because the sand storm is coming and we could really see the storm heading towards us. In 3 years of living in Kuwait this is the worst sand storm ever! All of us were 100% frightened except Nurin… she was 5% frightened and 95% excited! Ha ha ha (weirdo) Sofea was in the car panicking and saying ” We’re gonna die! We’re not going to make it home! Tell Harry I love him!” Remember, Harry is our cat… Sofea, Sofea. Nurin was just smiling the whole journey home. Like I said, weirdo!

,

View of sand storm approching from our car

It is amazing how the city became dark instantly once the sand storm hits and from inside the house you can actually hear the strong winds blowing… it’s kind of eerie… This picture I borrowed from Pn Z’lyna Lynn’s FB (copied from En Zawawi)… thanks you guys for allowing me to post this!

Picture courtesy of Pn Z’lyna’s FB (source from En Zawawi)

Alright then… enough with that… I just want say thank you to Pn Ayu yang comel tu for sharing recipe for this Kek Kukus.. it is truly delicious… moist and sweet. You guys can check the original recipe here and since this is my first time making layer cake… so please excuse the imperfection. Have no worries cos I will definitely gonna make this cake again. By the way, I only make 1/2 of the original ingredient.

Steam Layer Cake

Ingredient:

  • 200g butter
  • 5 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 190g condense milk
  • 1/2 cup Marie biscuits- blend till fine (original uses 1 cup)
  • 1/2 cup butter biscuits-blend till fine ( original recipe do not have this, I added it simply because I only have 1/2 cup of Marie biscuits he he he)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 100g Horlicks  (I omitted this simply because I do not have it!)
  • 100g Milo
  • 100g kaya

Method:

  1. Heat up the steamer.
  2. Beat the butter and sugar till fluffy and add one egg at a time. Mix well.
  3. Add vanilla, condense milk, kaya and biscuits. Mix well.
  4. Divide the batter into 2 portions, add Milo in one of the portion and the other one I leave it as it is.
  5. Place a layer of Milo batter in a baking pan and cover it with aluminum foil. Steam till the cake cooked and then layer the original batter on top of the Milo layer and steam again. Repeat till all the cake batter done. Once all the batter cooked, steam for another 1 hour.

Leave a Reply

