Caramel Popcorn

Caramel Popcorn

Assalamualaikum and morning everyone. Every Wednesday Sofea has netball club after school but this morning she told me that she wanted to quit the club because she said she is not interested in that club anymore. So I said OK simply because I know if she quit this one, she still has another club to participate this semester. Anyway this semester is ending soon i.e 31 March. On the way to school I asked her why is she not interested in the club anymore, here is the conversation….

Me : Why are you not interested in netball anymore?

Sofea : I still like netball but I want to quit because John in it.

Aina n Nurin : Oh no!

Sofea: I hate him.

Me : Why?

Sofea : Whenever I’m holding a ball, he will put his hand up and his armpit smells!

Everyone gelak besar and then Aina asked…

Aina : Who asked you to smell his armpit?

Sofea : He was in front of me with his hands up!

Me : So, did you drop the ball?

Sofea : No, I quickly pass the ball to my friend and then she suffered the same thing…he he he

What can I say, I too would not want to smell people’s armpit.. so I guess she is not going to the club again then. OK… enough with that, today’s post is popcorn, something that I always prepare for the kids to bring to school.My kids and their friends love this popcorn so much.

Ingredient:

  • 1/4 cup popcorn kernels
  • 2 tbsp of vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 25g unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp corn syrup
  • pinch of salt

Method:

  1. Place the pot on a stove and turn the  burner to medium or medium-high heat. Coat the bottom of a pot with the vegetable oil. Add the popcorn kennels and cover the pot.  Let the kernels cook, shaking occasionally to prevent burning. When the popping slows to 3 to 5 seconds between pops, remove pot from burner. Set aside.
  2. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, add the sugar and let it caramelized. Stir in butter, corn syrup and salt and bring to a boil, stirring constantly for few minutes. Remove from heat and pour in a thin stream over popcorn, stirring to coat.

Leave a Reply

