Carrot Cake

Carrot Cake

This cake I baked last saturday atas permintaan my eldest daughter, Aina. The first time I baked this cake it was because I “terlebih” beli carrot and don’t know what to do with them. When I told my kids that I’m baking a carrot cake, the first thing that they said was..” How can you use vegetable to make a cake?” and I had to practically forced them to try…well, my kids hate to try new thing! I always tell them that they will miss out on lots of good stuff if they afraid to try and this carrot cake is one of the example. After trying it, Aina and Nurin happened to be in love with this cake… well, who won’t… this cake is so moist and delicious… even Haqeem (my youngest boy) loves it.

Ingredient :-

Carrot cake:

  • 2 1/2 cup self raising flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp soda bicarbonate
  • 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup corn oil
  • 100 g melted butter
  • 200 g grated carrots
  • 150 g grated apples
  • 30 g roughly chopped ground almond ( optional )

Cream Cheese:

  • 250 g cream cheese
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1/3 cup icing sugar
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

Method :-

Cake : Preheat oven at 180C. Sift flour, baking powder, soda bicarbonate, cinnamon powder and salt in a mixing bowl. Add the rest of the ingredient and mix well. Pour into a  9″ baking tin that has been greased with butter. Bake for 45 – 1 hour.

Cream cheese : Mix all ingredient in a mixing bowl and beat until fluffy. Ready to use!

 

Leave a Reply

