Kuwait

Kuwait دولة الكويت…a place I called home for the last 2 and 1/2 years. Kuwait is a land of extreme…that’s what my husband always tell me. Extreme??? Yes… I mean really extreme, just to quote 1 or 2 examples; the temperature is very hot during the summer which it can go up to 58C and during the winter it can go down to 0C, another example is the people, you can see some of them cover everything including their eyes and some of them dress like they are living in Beverly Hills.

Where is Kuwait actually? Well, for those whose is not good at Geography which includes me he he he…Kuwait is situated in the northeast of the Arabian Peninsula, it is bordered by Saudi Arabia to the south, and Iraq to the north. It lies on the northwestern shore of the Persian Gulf.  The name Kuwait means fortress built near water. How big is Kuwait anyway? Kuwait is about 17,820 square kilometers… about the same size of Johor and has a population of about 2.7 million.


Arabian Peninsula

When my husband got this job and I told my family and friends that I’m moving to Kuwait, do you know what is their first reaction…. Is it safe? Why do they ask this question….I think people may be mistaken Kuwait with Iraq….well, the answer to that question is…Kuwait is very safe, much much safer than Malaysia. If you leave your wallet on your car dashboard overnight (which my husband sometimes do that), it will still be there in the morning.

.
Scenery taken from Arabian Gulf Street

This picture is taken from one of the park at Arabian Gulf Street and on the right is the Persian Gulf.

Shouk Sharq


Shouk Sharq is one of the shopping center in Kuwait and it is overlooking the Persian Gulf. The word Shouk means market.

Leave a Reply

