Gulai Ayam Padang (Padang Chicken)

Gulai Ayam Padang

مسائ الخير. كيف حالك؟ أنا بخير شكرا. مالجديد؟

For me… لا شيء جديد , just the normal housewife stuff except that this morning I went to my Arabic class …. today we learned  few new words and revised few sentences from last Monday. Want to know what I learned last Monday? OK here are few sentences / answers that were taught….

Where do you work?  أين تعمل؟

I worked in a hospital/clinic   أنا أعمل في مستشفى / عيادة

What is your occupation/job?   ما هي وظيفتك؟

I’m not working. I’m a house wife.    أنا لا اعمل. أنا ربة منزل

What is your hobby?    ما هي هوايتك؟

My hobbies are reading and traveling.    هواياتي  القراءة والسفر

My hobbies are cooking and swimming.   هواياتي  الطبخ والسباحة

My hobby is painting on wood.   هواياتي  الرسم على الخشب

Well…. may be for some this is super duper kids stuff but as for a beginner like me, this is good enough…. Tu la dulu masa sekolah tak nak belajar Arabic betul2, now ni kena belajar balik he he he.

Okay…. back to the recipe that I want to share today… Gulai Ayam Padang. Where did I get the recipe from? Well…I’m pretty sure that I took this recipe from Dapur Tanpa Sempadan – Mat Gebu, unfortunately I seems to be unable to search for it… strange… but if you must know, this is not my first time not being able to trace back the internet recipes that I have in my possession… mmm…well, at least I tried to give credit where it’s due, right? Anyway, being using this recipe for almost 2 years already and my kids love it. Thanks to whoever that shared this recipe on the net. Lets checkout the ingredient shall we!

Ingredient:

  • 1 chicken cut into 10 pieces
  • 8 – 10 Kaffir leaves
  • 200 ml coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 1/2 tbsp coriander **
  • 1 stalk lemongrass**
  • 16 shallot**
  • 6 garlic**
  • 1/2″ ginger**
  • 1/2″ galangal**
  • 1/2″ turmeric**
  • 2 red chili**
  • 2 tbsp blended dried chili (chili boh)**
  • salt, sugar, lemon juice to taste

Method:

  1. In a blender combine all ingredients marked ** till become smooth paste.
  2. Heat up oil in a wok and sauté the paste together with Kaffir leaves until fragrant and cooked.
  3. Add water and cook till the liquid reduced significantly and then add coconut milk, chicken, salt, sugar and lemon juice. Stir occasionally until the chicken cooked. If the gravy is too thick, add a little bit of water. Enjoy!

Alternative to curry and kurma.....

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

